There’s Always a U in Volunteer

December 9, 2018 § 1 Comment

Image - Volunteer recognition“I am only one, but I am one. I cannot do everything, but I can do something. And I will not let what I cannot do interfere with what I can do.”

– Edward Everett Hale

I was surprised, honoured, flattered and somewhat humbled last week when I was recognized as a 2018 Outstanding Volunteer at the International Volunteer Day Celebration Breakfast in Grande Prairie.

While I’ve volunteered steadily throughout my adult years, I much prefer being behind the scenes. Just as with my professional life, I’m not shy about taking the stage, but I often joke that I have a face for radio, just not the voice.

Ultimately, my preference is in the doing. It never occurred to me there’d be a community award for something that gives me personal satisfaction, has added to my leadership abilities, and has provided me with countless wonderful friendships.

While I was in the spotlight, I must, in turn, thank the work supervisors and colleagues who first encouraged me to invest personal time in the community. I also extend gratitude to everyone who has served with me along the way to achieve successes together. I appreciate the acknowledgement from Grande Prairie Volunteer Services Bureau and the role it plays in celebrating community volunteers.

Individuals who’ve invested far more time and energy into important causes than I have also motivated me. I would want my own legacy to be that I’ve motivated others to give back in some way.

The quote above illustrates that everyone can offer something back to his or her community. Every contribution will have some impact. Volunteers are the lifeblood of every city, town and village.

There are endless needs and opportunities big and small in every neighbourhood, school, church and municipality.

Some of my volunteer positions have been for a short duration – doing publicity for the 1986 Alberta Senior Games in Grande Prairie. Others have taken a long-term commitment, including my current role for the past five years as Chair of the Grande Prairie Council for Lifelong Learning.

I’ve also promoted musical theatre, chaired a parent council, served on economic development and chamber of commerce committees, worked on the executive of my son’s swim team, and chaired the Grande Prairie Volunteer Services Bureau.

When asked why I choose to volunteer, my response is that I accept opportunities where I see that my involvement will make a difference to an organization or an individual. Over the years, I’ve been able to do both.

Serving as a Big Brother was one of my first volunteer positions. I took my Little Brother on camping trips, tobogganing and to his hockey games. Although this experience was cut short because a change in employment had me moving across the country, I know we both gained from the relationship. It certainly helped prepare me for parenthood a couple years later.

My work with the Council for Lifelong Learning is particularly rewarding. While serving on the Board is a governance role, we have the opportunity to visit classrooms where it’s not unusual to see students from multiple countries learning together as they get a new lease on life in Canada.

The impact of volunteering in Canada has not gone unnoticed.

A report by the Conference Board of Canada this year – the Value of Volunteering in Canada – notes volunteering provides many important services that affect the lives of Canadians—supporting Canadians in need and contributing to sports, arts, cultural, and environmental causes are just some examples.

“Services provided by volunteers not only help to strengthen and empower individuals and communities, but also benefit the volunteers and their employers by expanding their experience, skills, and social and business networking opportunities.

  • We estimate that volunteers added over two billion hours to Canada’s work effort in 2017.
  • This volunteer contribution is valued at $55.9 billion in 2017—equivalent to 2.6 per cent of GDP.
  • If volunteering were an industry, it would employ nearly as many people as those currently working in education.”

Who knows what my next volunteer role will be. Without doubt, community involvement will always be part of my life.

One of my favourite sayings sums up well what volunteering means to me. Winston Churchill is quoted as saying, “We make a living by what we get but we make a life by what we give.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

§ One Response to There’s Always a U in Volunteer

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading There’s Always a U in Volunteer at The Muse and Views.

meta