Remembering Montina Rose Moffett

November 30, 2015 § 2 Comments

10007467_227876624064741_2126647087_nDuring the first month of my travels in 2014, I spent close to 2 weeks in Bali on a tour with a group of women from across North America – many of whom I had never met before. Nearly two years later, we are almost all still connected. We check in on one another, sometimes manage a visit if we’re in another’s part of the continent… and over this last weekend, I’m sure all of our thoughts have been with a member of our group in particular.

Before I landed in Bali, I had no idea who Montina Rose Moffett was. But after two short weeks with her, she is someone I will never forget.

When I met Montina, she had already been undergoing treatment for cancer. She had accepted it and was living every moment more fully than I’ve experienced any one else do. I admire how up front and open she was  about what she was going through – this is something I continue to struggle with on my best day with the people closest to me.

I have many fond memories of Montina, but there are two in particular that stand out:

The first was while we were staying in Kuta. We split up to visit different areas of Poppies Lane. We had all been talking about some of the spas that we saw with the little fish in them that would eat dead flesh off your hands or feet if you put them in the water (your hands or feet, not the fish. They, obviously, remained in the water). As I walked down the lane with a couple of the other women, we spied Montina and two other tour group members sitting outside of one of the shops with big smiles on their faces, their legs and feet dangling into a pool of the little fish! Laughing, because the nibbling tickled more than anything.

The second memory is of our visit to Tirta Empul in Ubud. Tirta Empul is a Hindu Balinese water temple famous for its holy spring water. We waded through its waist deep pools from fountain to fountain participating in a purification ceremony. Each of us had a different feeling coming away from the cleansing waters, but watching Montina go through each fountain was beautiful. She soaked it all in on a level of profoundness I’m not sure many of us could fully appreciate.

Less than a year after she returned from Bali, Montina passed away. The anniversary of her passing was over the weekend.

Montina, I only knew you for a short time, and there’s so much more I would have loved to know about you. Wherever you are, I trust you’ve found peace. Thank you for being such a shining example of having the courage to live every single one of yours days to its fullest. I think of you often and your spirit and energy continue to shine through as guides on my own journey.

Sending you my love and light.

xoxoxoxox

Wendy

§ 2 Responses to Remembering Montina Rose Moffett

  • davidolinger says:

    Such a poignant and touching message of your memories with this special lady, Wendy. A double-edged reminder: cherish every day and the people in it.

  • Wendy Peters says:

    Thanks, David. She was an incredible woman! Although I would sooner have the person rather than their memory to remind me to cherish my days and the people in them, it’s one way I honour them.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Remembering Montina Rose Moffett at The Muse and Views.

meta

