Rediscovery my purpose… by accident.

August 15, 2011 § 4 Comments

If there’s anything that life likes to do, it’s get increasingly busier. Sooner or later, we each wake up and think, “How did I get here?” That is, if we wake up to that fact at all. Although a busy life is not something I think any of us can avoid, it is possible to keep your ear to the ground and eye on the road to know when you’re swerving off track. Just like driving, it requires focus and attention when you’re behind the wheel. If you’ve got too many things going at once, you might find yourself in a heap on the side of the road sooner than you think.

I’m by no means crashing into a ditch, but I’ve felt myself slowly being pulled off course. In fact, I think I turned down a side road and lost my way for a while. I’ve been off on a different sort of adventure and the sounds of the main highway, that is, the road I had first set out on with a purpose in mind, were drawing more distant every day. I vaguely remembered what it once was, but was losing touch with that part of me. I’ve been wanting to make my way back, to remember what exactly I was after in the first place, but I didn’t know the way. At least not until, like a loud horn and beacon blazing through a thick fog, I was given a connection back to that place… and hence, a direction to head in.

I was reminded today of an experimental status I did on Facebook one day last year.  I used my status as a cancer fundraiser. Except instead of trying to get my network to support me, I asked them for their stories. In exchange for every story shared, I donated $2 to cancer research. The experiment was successful in my books. I had nearly 40 stories shared, and 4 other friends who stepped up to match my pledge. In total we raised close to $500… yep, you read that right. $500 from a Facebook status update.

About 10 months ago, I left my employ with ATCO and started a new adventure with Yelp, a business reviews website out of San Francisco. With this new challenge came a lot less available time for me to keep up many of the online activities I had been doing in my spare time. This, unfortunately, has included blog posts on The Muse and Views. Today, however, I was reminded of why I started the blog with David in the first place. My whole reason for blogging was partially that of healing, inspiring and sharing my ideas and thoughts, and partially in hopes of inspiring and helping others with my posts. I’m not sure when exactly I lost sight of that purpose, but I did. And because I did, it’s made trying to keep up the blog and the new job next to impossible.

What’s so special about today? Well, through a sponsorship we’re doing with Light The Night across Canada, my Facebook status experiment and how well it had worked was at the forefront of my mind. I wanted a way to engage Calgary’s Yelp Community the same way I had engaged my own personal network all those months ago. I recognized my knack for using communication tools in ways many don’t think of at first. It comes so naturally, it’s a part of who I am.

This was the beacon lighting my way back. That connection into myself that I won’t otherwise find. As much as I wish this blog were for you, it’s really, first and foremost, for me. And, with David’s reminder not to waste our talents, I’m making my way back.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Rediscovery my purpose… by accident.

  • Interesting use of the highway as symbolism here, Wendy. In an earlier blog, I referred to Tom Cochrane’s Life is a Highway song. You are so right about the signs we need to watch on the highway being like things to watch out for in life. Sometimes we need to slow down or speed up or just turn around because we are going the wrong way altogether. Sometimes we find our way accidentally or we get directions from someone on the side of the road.

  • Wendy Peters says:

    Yes indeed! There’s another highway analogy I was reading somewhere, though I can’t quite remember where. But what it said was if you were driving to New York, your focus wouldn’t be on New York as you drove, would it? No, your focus wouldn’t be more than about 200 yards out in front of you. I’ve used that as a reminder every now and again to look at what’s in front of me and to keep me on the road when I’m getting impatient to reach my end goal.

  • Andrea says:

    What a great post Wendy and a gentle reminder for some of us struggling to get back to the core of what we wanted to do in the first place. Timely and brilliantly written!

  • Wendy Peters says:

    Thanks Andrea! If you’re one of those folks, hope you can start making your way back there soon :).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rediscovery my purpose… by accident. at The Muse and Views.

meta

