On Growth…

March 30, 2010 § 2 Comments

My mom once said to me “You know, I feel like I’ve learnt everything there is to know about myself.”  That thought scared me.  To me, that meant there was a ceiling to my growth, a limit to my potential.  In that moment I vowed never to be in a place where I felt like I knew everything about myself.

You’ve heard that people don’t actually change, right?  Except that we do.  We just may not want to see it, or acknowledge it.  If people don’t change, we think we know them.  If we think we know them, we feel safe, because we think we have them figured out.  We know what their patterns are, their actions, their behaviours.  They’re predictable.  Predictable people don’t change.  But, if we don’t change, we don’t grow and if we don’t grow, what else is there for us to do except to pass on?

I think my vow to never be in a place where I had reached my potential wasn’t really all that necessary.  Because, really, the day I stop growing will be the day that I die.  It’s impossible to go through life without becoming something we weren’t in the previous moment.  And none of us can go backwards, we can only go forwards.  Therefore, we can never shrink, we can only grow.  Yet growth may be in one direction versus another, because where we feel we’ve reached our potential, we’ve automatically put a limit on ourselves as to how far we can go.

We’ll never be the same person twice.  We can never recreate the same circumstances unless in a controlled environment, and yet, if we’re in a controlled environment, there is a limit to what we can learn.  There are a finite number of things that can happen.  That’s what’s exciting about life.  It’s uncontrolled.  We are not in control.  And because of that, we must always grow and adapt to what’s happening around us.

I’ll never be in a place where growth isn’t an option.  At least not until I leave this earth.  Growth is inevitable.  It’s another fundamental truth to life.  Whoever you think I am today, know that I’ve already found new ways and directions to grow and whoever you were in that moment, you’ve grown beyond that too.

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to On Growth…

  • Beautiful, Wendy. This connects very well with one of my own statements … when you quit learning,you quit living. I do know people whose lives are built around knowing what they are going to do in every minute of their work day and have the rest of their lives planned out in a similar fashion. I feel blessed knowing that every day will be different in my life and I can rest assured that not everything on my list of things to do will get done because new things have come along. Most days that is a great existence.

  • clintcora says:

    If we stop learning, we stop growing. And as you implied, if we stop growing, we really stop living. Notice that people who remain relatively young looking and sharp throughout their senior years subscribe to never stop growing.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading On Growth… at The Muse and Views.

meta

