The last week of 2009…

December 28, 2009 § 8 Comments

It’s the last week of 2009.  This Christmas has been rare in that I haven’t gotten caught up in all of the hubbub.  My stress levels have been at an all time low.  I’ve enjoyed every moment, every person, and every morsel of food more than I ever have.  And now, with the year on its final legs, I think I’m going to take this week to relive and relish the highlights of 2009, and decide how I will set the stage for 2010.

One way people attempt to start out a new year is with resolutions.  And while the intentions behind resolutions are usually good, so many people have set themselves up for failure.  The reasons for not following through on a resolution depend on person to person.  For me, I think it’s been because there’s always that expectation that you try hard to follow through, but nobody ever actually makes them, so if you give up on your resolutions after a month or two… well, heck, at least you tried, right?  This year, I want my resolutions to stick.  And so they won’t be resolutions.  Because taking one day out of the year to look at what you want and setting a goal isn’t enough.  It takes changing our day to day to really make change in our lives.

I’ve been coming across the quote from Ghandi a lot lately “Be the change that you want to see in the world.”  That has been my focus for 2009, and will continue to be my focus in 2010.  Finding alignment in my own life and in what I want to see in the world.  Being the change.

During the last couple of months, David and I have been talking about a New Year’s feature to do.  We’ve gone to our networks for some feedback, and thought through a couple of iterations of what this might look like.  We will be kicking off the New year with a bit of an experiment.  Over the course of the first 10 weeks in 2010, we’ll be posting 10 Things to Inspire and Motivate in 2010.

All the best for a motivational and inspirational New Year.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to The last week of 2009…

  • Great post, Wendy.

    Rather than a specific resolution, I have decided to establish a theme: Put the ’10’ in 2010. That means I want to make it an overall great year.

    I have written, of course, about doing a better job on my diabetes. Certainly doing that will help improve things. However I won’t create a specific resolution around that because I always see ebbs and flows around individual resolutions. I think by turning up my game in a number of other areas, my focus on my disease will also intensify.

    The Ghandi quote has been one of my favourites for years, paying closer attention it will be a great start.

  • Angela says:

    Put the 10 in 2010. My God, David, that’s brilliant.

  • pwacmember says:

    I agree! David has come up with a winning phrase. You should try and sell that: “Put the 10 in 2010” or “Putting the 10 in 2010.” Some corp or entity would probably pay big for that.

    I’m not much for making resolutions, but I do get reflective at yearend, and have posted some of my own reflections on my blog at:
    http://doreenisthewizardofwords.blogspot.com

    Comments welcome!

  • Wendy Peters says:

    Now, although the context is different… when I first heard David use the words “10 in 2010” I couldn’t help but think of the Bad Religion song… named 10 in 2010.

    And now I have been using it as my catch phrase this entire week to replace “living passionately”. It sounds like more of a call to action.

  • Jackie Ostashek says:

    Add one more to the list that thinks “10 in 2010” in a brilliant phrase!

    I made resolutions for 2009 — part if it was the “39 [years old] in 2009” and it was important for me to make some important changes in my life so that when 2010 comes (and brings with it my 40th birthday) I can move into this new phase in my life a happier, healthier me.

    As I watch the last hours of 2009 tick away, I can’t begin to tell you how empowering it feels to put the checkmarks next to my list of resolutions! All accomplished. All achieved. Happier. Healthier. Stronger.

    2010 will be an awesome year — and that is because I have set myself up to have a awesome year!

    That said, I don’t really have resolutions for 2010 — I have goals. I have dreams. I have opportunities. And I am going to make them happen!

    Cheers to David and the “10 in 2010” — have a brilliant year, everyone!

  • LOL, Wendy! Just like me, everything somehow has to have a musical connection. I have also rephrased my theme to be … May your 2010 be a 10, though that doesn’t have the same call to action sound to it. Or another phrase for those going through change … Begin Again in 2010! Cheers to all readers whether reading this before or after the new year … 2010 will be the best year yet … And Jackie … thanks for your insight … May we never grow up … just age gracefully.

  • Clint Cora says:

    The concept of New Year resolutions is good as it makes people want to change for the better. Unfortunately, it’s always a wish rather than a commitment. Instead of the usual, resolutions should be thought of as the initial plans of the year that must be monitored and reviewed on a continuous basis, ie, monthly reviews may work well. Active planning rather than simply wishing will be necessary to make your resolutions stick. Good luck everyone!

  • […] my blogging friend David Ollinger comments on Wendy’s latest the Muse and Views post, ‘Let’s put the ’10′ in […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The last week of 2009… at The Muse and Views.

meta

