Why give 75% at a job you sort of like when you can give 100% at a job you love?

September 28, 2009 § 4 Comments

There can be several reasons:  Family.  Commitments.  Security.  Good Pay.  Benefits.  Stability.

But what about:  Passion?  Fun?  Self-fulfillment?

I believe that the majority of us have been brought up thinking that we cannot have both.  We look at the kind of life we want to have, and think that it’s not possible if we also want something else.  For instance, can a woman really have a career and be the heart of the family?  Many think no.  But what about the career you are passionate about?

Find a job that you love and you will never work another day in your life.” – Confucius

Find that passion, that fun, that self-fulfillment and soon it doesn’t take any work at all to have both.  Because when you love what you do, you’ll always find a reason to do it.

I am in an area I love.  Everything I do has to do with the web.  From web design, social media and marketing to shopping, connecting and sharing.  By day I support corporate websites and their initiatives.  I love the challenge there is across a multitude of industries and finding ways to make a company website work while supporting a variety of goals.

By night, I do the same thing, only for individuals and small businesses because I believe there is a world full of people out there I can help.  It’s not work to me.  It’s where two of my passions meet:  web and helping people.   And it’s something I can make a good living at.  I have time for family, for my commitments.  I have security, stability and benefits.  I’m living by example.  I think I can have it all.  And so far I do.

I haven’t always thought that way.  I used to think in terms of sacrifices.  I had to sacrifice something that I wanted in order to get something else that I wanted.  And sometimes, to prove how much I wanted it, it had to be a big sacrifice.

There was value in what I gave up to get what I wanted.  I slip back into those shoes every now and again, and they feel foreign and uncomfortable. For me it’s been about taking a long hard look at the obstacles I think I face.  And figuring out who put them there.  Most of them I put there myself.  I have set my own limits and my own ceilings.  I took a different stance, the sky became the limit… and all of a sudden it’s attainable.

So, what if we each chose to live our lives from a standpoint of passion?  What if we chose not to settle for any less than work we are passionate about doing and that supports our families AND provides stability and security?  It’s out there.

And because we’re each passionate about different areas, there’s plenty to go around.

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to Why give 75% at a job you sort of like when you can give 100% at a job you love?

  • John Tyler says:

    Working at a job that you are passionate about also has so many benefits! On the job, if you are passionate, you will bring a positive influence to the work environment. Other employees will enjoy working with you and communication/productivity will increase. It can be difficult dealing with someone who is bitter about their job.

    The other benefits are outside of work. If someone is not happy with their job, then it tends to be brought home and can affect your personal relationships. If you are passionate with your job, then it turns from a chore to a fun hobby!!

    Wendy- I can see that you are enjoying the benefits of being passionate in your job!! It is easy to see why you are so positive and inspirational 😉

  • David Olinger says:

    I think that people are in the mindset that what they do is just a job and they don’t see what they do as fitting into the bigger picture.

    They don’t see that they can make a difference. Everyone should have to own a business for a while to see that they shouldn’t be waiting for other people to motivate them that every person in an organization should matter and does have a contribution to make.

    In fact, many people now seem to think the world owes them a living. I could not stand to be in a job where I hated or disliked a significant portion of what I am doing. I would either try to find change within the job, or move on.

    Since we spend more of our waking hours during the week at our place of employment than we do at home, why not enjoy that time?

    • Wendy Peters says:

      Indeed. Living to work or working to live is what I hear most often… and I don’t like either of those mindsets. If work is about making money to support all of the other things I want to do in my life, like you suggest Dave, we end up spending more of our waking hours at something we may not enjoy doing, or at the very least we enjoy, but we are not passionate about.

      I like the idea of everyone having the chance to own their own business. It’s like everyone should travel outside of their own country at least once to see what the rest of the world is like. It’s all part of expanding our horizons and opening our minds. Thankfully, the internet makes it easier to bring the rest of the world to us, so although some of us may not have the income to experience first hand what another place is like, we can get a pretty good idea. Similarly, there really aren’t many barriers to starting up a business online. Anyone can try out being a business owner and discover what it’s like and how it works.

      John, I’m glad it’s obvious! My job isn’t a job, it’s what I love doing in life. I’m not sure how I came upon it, all I know is I decided I was going to live as full of a life as I could and trusted that the rest would just fall into place. To date this is proving true. I’m not working to make a living, all I’m doing is actually living. The rest is just falling into place!

  • David Olinger says:

    You are living well, Wendy, finding time to enjoy the array of things that life offers. Winston Churchill said, “You make a living by what you get. You make a life by what you give.” It is all about living life to the fullest and being able to manage what you think is most important.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Why give 75% at a job you sort of like when you can give 100% at a job you love? at The Muse and Views.

meta

